Click to View and Print Application

The MOWA Clean Waters Award recognizes and rewards organizations who demonstrate continuous, voluntary efforts to protect, preserve, and enhance the lakes, rivers, and streams of Michigan.

Threats to Michigan’s waterways are on the rise and it’s more important than ever to protect our most vital and treasured assets. While stewardship of our waterways is everyone’s responsibility, MOWA is specifically seeking to reward local or regional organizations operating within the state of Michigan in their voluntary stewardship efforts.

The award

One winner will be selected annually. In addition to a $500.00 cash award, the winning organization will receive a plaque commemorating the achievement and a representative of the organization will be invited to attend MOWA's annual conference.

The nomination process

MOWA members or non-members may nominate an organization (organizations may also nominate themselves) by downloading and completing the application from the MOWA website. Completed applications and supporting material should be sent to;

Michigan Outdoor Writers Association
P.O. Box 471
Lapeer, MI 48446

Nominations must be received by April 16th. Nominations received after the deadline will automatically be entered in the competition for the following year.

Important: Nominees should include all material supporting their nomination in their submission.

The winning organization will be selected by May 1st and the award presented at the annual MOWA conference.

Nominees will be judged based on the following criteria:

  • Scope: The breadth of the work performed.
  • Impact: An assessment of the benefits of work performed.
  • Effectiveness: The extent to which the goals of the initiatives were achieved.
  • Duration: Was the work continuous and ongoing, or a one-time event?
  • Enduring: The extent to which the benefits of the work performed will endure.

For sponsorship inquiries or questions, please email Jeff Nedwick: