2021 MOWA Excellence in Craft Awards
October 20, 2021
Manistique, MI

Continuing a long tradition of recognizing and rewarding communicators who excel in their craft, the Michigan Outdoor Writers Association (MOWA) recently announced winners of their 2021 Excellence in Craft awards.

Cliff Ketcham Award for Best Outdoor Feature
1st place: John Cleveland for “Big Fish are a Gift”
2nd place: Tom Huggler for “The Empty Game Bag”
3rd place: Jacob Vanhouten for “Using Dogs to Locate Wounded Deer or Bear”

James H. Hall Award for Best Outdoor Feature: Non-Consumptive Activity
1st place: Tom Carney for “Unscheduled Stops Along the Road to Awareness”
2nd place: Tom Huggler for “Requiem for a Barn”
3rd place: Joan Young for “New Recruits to the Choir”

James A.O. Crowe Award for Best Column
1st place: Tom Huggler
2nd place: Steve Griffin
3rd place: Bob Vogel

Charlie Welch Award for Photography
1st place: Denny Geurink for “Kids Fishing”
2nd place: John Cleveland for “Brooks Falls Bear”
3rd place: Steve Griffin for “Thumbs Up”

About MOWA
Founded in 1944, MOWA is a non-profit organization comprised of outdoor communicators with a passion for communicating about nature, the environment, and outdoor recreation. MOWA’s members communicate on various outdoor subjects including hunting, fishing, skiing, hiking, snowmobiling, backpacking, the environment, education, trapping, travel, humor, natural resources, conservation, ecology, bird watching, boating, canoeing, kayaking, shooting sports and more.

For more information about MOWA, visit our website: www.miowa.net